Justin Hurwitz and Damien Chazelle To Be Honored with 2023 SCL Spirit of Collaboration Award


Composer Justin Hurwitz and filmmaker Damien Chazelle will be honored at the 4th SCL Awards with the Spirit of Collaboration Award for their enduring and distinguished creative partnership representing a significant body of work.

Their creative partnership began in college and has been followed up by award winning films Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench (2009), Whiplash (2014), La La Land (2016), First Man (2018), and Babylon (2022).

The presentation of the Spirit of Collaboration Award will take place February 15th at the 4th SCL Awards in Los Angeles, CA.

Award Recipients

2023: Justin Hurwitz with Damien Chazelle
2022: Carter Burwell with Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
2021: Terence Blanchard with Spike Lee
2020: Thomas Newman with Sam Mendes