45th Annual Grammy Awards nominees


Congratulations to the 45th Annual Grammy Awards nominees

The Society of Composers and Lyricists congratulates all of this year’s Grammy Award nominees, including SCL Advisory Board member Howard Shore. The award ceremony will be held on February 8, 2004, at the Staples Arena. The nominees for the Film/TV/Visual Media category are:

Field 22 – Film/TV/Visual Media
Category 79 – Best Score Soundtrack Album For A Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media
(Award to Composer(s) for an original score created specifically for, or as a companion to, a current legitimate motion picture, television show or series or other visual media.)

• Catch Me If You Can
John Williams, composer (John Williams)

• Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets
John Williams, composer (John Williams)
[Warner Sunset/Nonesuch/Atlantic Records]

• The Hours
Philip Glass, composer (Philip Glass)
[Nonesuch Records]

• The Lord Of The Rings – The Two Towers
Howard Shore, composer (Howard Shore)
[Reprise Records/WMG Soundtracks]

• Seabiscuit
Randy Newman, composer (Randy Newman)
[Decca Records]

Field 22 – Film/TV/Visual Media
Category 80 – Best Song Written For A Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media
(A Songwriter(s) award. For a song (melody & lyrics) written specifically for a motion picture, television or other visual media, and released for the first time during the Eligibility Year. (Artist names appear in parenthesis.) Singles or Tracks only.)

• Act A Fool (From 2 Fast 2 Furious)
Christopher Bridges & Keith McMasters, songwriters (Ludacris)
Track from: 2 Fast 2 Furious
[Def Jam South]

• The Hands That Built America (From Gangs of New York)
U2, songwriters (U2)
Track from: Gangs Of New York
[Interscope Records; Publisher: Universal Music Publishing]

• I Move On (From Chicago)
Fred Ebb & John Kander, songwriters (Catherine Zeta-Jones & Renée Zellweger)
Track from: Chicago
[Epic Records/Sony Music Soundtrax; Publishers: Unichappell Music and Kander & Ebb, Inc.]

• Lose Yourself (From 8 Mile)
J. Bass, M. Mathers & L. Resto, songwriters (Eminem)
Track from: 8 Mile
[Shady/Interscope Records; Publisher: Eight Mile Style]

• A Mighty Wind (From A Mighty Wind)
Christoher Guest, Eugene Levy & Michael McKean, songwriters (The Folksmen, Mitch & Mickey, And The New Main Street Singers)
Track from: A Mighty Wind
[DMZ/Columbia Records/Sony Music Soundtrax; Publishers: Shmenge Music, Coney Island Whitefish Music & Tuxedo Time Music]