Nominees Announced for 4th SCL Awards


On behalf of the Society of Composers & Lyricists, it is my great pleasure to announce the nominees for our 4th Annual SCL Awards. Not only do I want to thank everyone who entered, but also the vast number of you who took the time to review the entries and cast your votes. The continued support for the Awards have been shown by our community has been all we’d hoped for and more.

The Spirit of Collaboration and Jury Award winners will be announced in early January.

The Final Voting Round opens on January 9, 2023 and closes on February 6 2023.

The Awards ceremony will be held on February 15, 2023.

Good luck to all the nominees.

Ashley Irwin


Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

Michael Abels

Carter Burwell
The Banshees of Inisherin

Alexandre Desplat
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio

Michael Giacchino
The Batman

John Powell
Don’t Worry Darling

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

Leo Birenberg, Zach Robinson
Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Sharon Farber
Brainwashed: Sex-Camera-Power

Ryan Lott
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Rob Simonsen
The Whale

Mark Smythe
The Reef: Stalked

Outstanding Original Score for a Television Production

Nicholas Britell

Siddhartha Khosla
Only Murders In The Building

Bear McCreary
The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power

Theodore Shapiro

Cristobal Tapia de Veer
The White Lotus

Outstanding Original Song for a Dramatic or Documentary Visual Media Production

“Applause” from Tell It Like A Woman
Diane Warren

“Carolina” from Where The Crawdads Sing
Taylor Swift

“Hold My Hand” from Top Gun: Maverick
Lady Gaga, BloodPop 

“Lift Me Up” from Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Tems, Rihanna, Ludwig Göransson, Ryan Coogler    

“(You Made It Feel Like) Home” from Bones and All
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Outstanding Original Song for a Comedy or Musical Visual Media Production

“Ciao Papa” from Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio
Alexandre Desplat, Roeban Katz, Guillermo del Toro

“Good Afternoon” from Spirited
Khiyon Hursey, Sukari Jones, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Mark Sonnenblick

“Light The Match” from Central Park
Danny Elfman

“Love is Not Love” from Bros
Billy Eichner, Marc Shaiman

“Now You Know” from Weird: The Al Yankovic Story
Weird Al Yankovic

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media

Nainita Desai

Stephanie Economou
Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Dawn of Ragnarök

Bear McCreary
God of War Ragnarök

Winifred Phillips
Jurassic World Primal Ops

Christopher Wiliis
Cat Burglar

David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent

DeAndre James Allen-Toole  
God’s Country

Esin Aydingoz
Simchas and Sorrows

Anna Drubich

Nami Melumad
Star Trek: Strange New Worlds

Dara Taylor
The Invitation