Nominees Announced for 5th Annual SCL Awards


On behalf of the Society of Composers & Lyricists, it is my great pleasure to announce the nominees for our 5th Annual SCL Awards. Not only do I want to thank everyone who entered, but also the vast number of you who took the time to review the entries and cast your votes.

The Final Voting Round opens on January 8, 2023 and closes on February 5, 2024.

The Awards ceremony will be held on February 13, 2024, at the Skirball Cultural Center, and member invitations will be sent soon.

Good luck to all the nominees.

Ashley Irwin

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

Joe Hisaishi
The Boy and the Heron

Ludwig Göransson

Laura Karpman
American Fiction

Robbie Robertson
Killers of the Flower Moon

Anthony Willis

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

Jon Batiste
American Symphony

Mica Levi
The Zone of Interest

Fabrizio Mancinelli, Richard M. Sherman

Daniel Pemberton

John Powell
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie

Outstanding Original Score for a Television Production

Nicholas Britell

Natalie Holt

Martin Phipps
The Crown

Carlos Rafael Rivera
Lessons in Chemistry

Gustavo Santaolalla
The Last of Us

Outstanding Original Title Sequence for a Television Production

Chanda Dancy
Lawmen: Bass Reeves

Nainita Desai
The Deepest Breath

Kevin Kiner

Atli Örvarsson

Carlos Rafael Rivera
Lessons in Chemistry

Outstanding Original Song for a Dramatic or Documentary Visual Media Production

Jon Batiste, Dan Wilson
“It Never Went Away”
American Symphony

Nicholas Britell, Taura Stinson
“Slip Away”

Sharon Farber, Noah Benshea
“Better Times”
Jacob the Baker

Lenny Kravitz
“Road to Freedom”

Olivia Rodrigo, Dan Nigro
“Can’t Catch Me Now”
The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

Outstanding Original Song for a Comedy or Musical Visual Media Production

Jack Black, John Spiker, Eric Osmond, Michael Jelenic, Aaron Horvath
The Super Mario Bros. Movie

Heather McIntosh, Allyson Newman, Taura Stinson
“All About Me”
The L Word: Generation Q

Billie Eilish O’Connell, Finneas O’Connell
“What Was I Made For?”

Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt
“I’m Just Ken”

Diane Warren
“The Fire Inside”
Flamin’ Hot

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media

Stephen Barton, Gordy Haab
Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

Winifred Phillips
Secrets of Skeifa Island

Pinar Toprak
Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora

Austin Wintory
Stray Gods: The Roleplaying Musical

The David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent

Catherine Joy
Home is a Hotel

Fabrizio Mancinelli
The Land of Dreams

Allyson Newman
Commitment to Life

Hannah Parrott
After Death

Kenny Wood
The Naughty Nine