SCL Awards Nominations


On behalf of the Society of Composers & Lyricists, it gives me great pleasure to announce the nominations for our inaugural SCL Awards. Not only do I want to thank everyone who entered, but also the vast number of you who took the time to review the entries and cast your votes. The support the Awards have been shown by our community has been all we’d hoped for and more. So I want to thank you for getting us off to a great start.

The Final Voting Round opens on December 12, 2019 and closes on January 3, 2020.

The Awards ceremony will be held on January 7, 2020, at the Skirball Cultural Center, and member invitations will be included in the Final Voting Round announcement.

Good luck to all the nominees.

Ashley Irwin


Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

Michael Abels

Michael Giacchino
Jojo Rabbit

Hildur Guðnadóttir

John Powell
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

Alan Silvestri
Avengers: Endgame

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

Jeff Beal
The Biggest Little Farm

Kathryn Bostic
Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am

Alberto Iglesias
Pain and Glory

Howard Shore
The Song of Names

Gabriel Yared

Outstanding Original Score for a Television or Streaming Production

Kris Bowers
When They See Us

Nicholas Britell

Kyle Dixon, Michael Stein
Stranger Things

Hildur Guðnadóttir

Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Adam Taylor
The Handmaid’s Tale

Outstanding Original Song for Visual Media

Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez
“Into The Unknown”
Frozen 2

Kathryn Bostic
“High Above The Water”
Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am

Joshuah Brian Campbell, Cynthia Erivo
“Stand Up”

Justin Paul, Benj Pasek, Alan Menken

Diane Warren
“I’m Standing with You”

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media

Neal Acree

Gordy Haab, Stephen Barton
Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

Austin Wintory

Spirit of Collaboration Award

Thomas Newman and Sam Mendes