SCL Remarks at House Judiciary Committee Section 512 Listening Session


The Society of Composers & Lyricists was invited to participate in the US House Judiciary Committee Section 512 Listening Session on Tuesday, August 4th, 2020.



In addition to SCL President Ashley Irwin, the conversation included Rick Carnes of the Songwriters Guild of America, Todd Dupler of the Recording Academy, Kevin Erickson from the Future of Music Coalition, Susan Genco of the Music Artists Coalition, Keith Kupferschmid from the Copyright Alliance, Richard Masur of SAG-AFTRA, Marc Ribot from the Music Workers Alliance, and Jennifer Turnbow of National Songwriters Association International.

The discussion was moderated by Jamie L. Simpson – Chief Counsel: Subcommittee on Courts, Intellectual Property, and the Internet; Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, and was attended by Committee members’ staffers from both sides of the House.

President Ashley Irwin’s full statement may be found below.

This content is reserved for members of the SCL. Log in or join us today!