The Bronx, USA with Charles Fox and Danny Gold


The Bronx, USA follows producer George Shapiro as he returns to his hometown of the Bronx. Revisiting the streets, stores and memories of his childhood, Shapiro reflects on the singularity of the borough he grew up in and the close friendships he made there that have stood the test of time. A love letter to a special part of New York City and its distinctive residents, the documentary also introduces the next generation of Bronx-ites – the 2017 graduating class of DeWitt Clinton High School, who may come from different backgrounds from Shapiro’s class of 1949, but whose passion, drive and emphasis on the power of friendship connects them with the seniors who came nearly seventy years before them.

Paul Williams and Charles Fox wrote the main title song, “Da Bronx,” filmed live action to the recorded song for the main title of the film, featuring Robert Klein and Donald Webber Jr. singing on the streets of the Bronx. For the film’s end title, the lead singer, Robert Klein, background singers who were the actual Jersey Boys cast, Donald Webber Jr. who played the lead role of Hamilton on Broadway, and the whole band including Fox on piano, were filmed performing a different version of the same song onstage at a club in NYC.

About Charles Fox

Hailing from the Bronx and featured in the documentary, Charles Fox began his career playing the piano, composing and arranging for such Latin legends as Ray Barretto, Joe Quijano, and Tito Puente, as well as writing theme music and arrangements for Skitch Henderson and the Tonight Show Orchestra. He has composed the music for hundreds of songs. Most of them have been recorded for records, motion pictures and TV. Among the many legendary and diverse recording artists who have recorded his songs are Roberto Flack, Sarah Vaughn, Barry Manilow, Jim Croce, Fred Astaire, Luther Vandross, Johnny Cash, Lena Horne, George Shearing, The Boston Pops, Jack Jones, Tito Puente, Goldie Hawn, Carly Simon, Johnny Mathis, Shirley Bassey, Crystal Gayle, Lori Lieberman, Sergio Mendes, Maureen McGovern, Olivia Newton John, Lauryn Hill & The Fugees, and Ice T.

Fox has composed the musical scores for over 100 motion pictures and television films including Barbarella, Nine to Five, Goodbye Columbus, and Foul Play, for which he received one of his two Academy Award® nominations. The other was for The Other Side of the Mountain. Among his popular songs are “Ready to Take a Chance Again,” “I Got a Name,” and “Killing Me Softly with His Song,” for which he received the Grammy® for Best Song of the Year. His TV shows and theme songs include The Love Boat, Happy Days, Laverne and Shirley, Wonder Woman, The Paper Chase, Wide World of Sports, Monday Night Football, and Love American Style, for which he received two Emmys®.

Fox was inducted into the Songwriter Hall of Fame in 2004. He is an Ambassador for the Society of Composers and Lyricists, received a Lifetime Achievement award from BMI, and is a Governor of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

This content is reserved for members of the SCL. Join us today!